Scotland - Council Areas Quiz 🌎

Use two fingers to zoom in and out on smartphones! 😀
This quiz is about the Council Areas of Scotland. Locate the regions on the map and click on them. A difficult quiz with 32 questions.

Scotland is administratively divided into 32 Council Areas. In the past there were various other divisions (e.g. into shires or counties). The current division has been in effect since 1996. Some names of today's Council Areas have been adopted from earlier divisions. However, the boundaries of the Council Areas are sometimes significantly different.

The Shetland Islands are actually further north of Scotland. For this quiz, the islands have been moved into the area of the map.
The box at the bottom of the map shows an enlargement of the middle section of the map.

Abbreviations used on the map:
W. D. = West Dunbartonshire
E. D. = East Dunbartonshire
N. L. = North Lanarkshire
E. R. = East Renfrewshire
N. Ayrshire = North Ayrshire

Also learn the most important Cities of Scotland and the Countries and Crown Dependencies of the United Kingdom.

The map in this quiz is based on the file Scotland_Administrative_Map_2009.png by the author XrysD. CC BY SA 3.0 applies.
This quiz covers the following Council Areas (regions):
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire, Angus, Argyll and Bute, Clackmannanshire, Dumfries and Galloway, Dundee, East Ayrshire, East Dunbartonshire, East Lothian, East Renfrewshire, Edinburgh, Falkirk, Fife, Glasgow, Highland, Inverclyde, Midlothian, Moray, North Ayrshire, North Lanarkshire, Orkney, Outer Hebrides, Perth and Kinross, Renfrewshire, Scottish Borders, Shetland, South Ayrshire, South Lanarkshire, Stirling, West Dunbartonshire and West Lothian